I cant believe it, they phished in my pond!

Holy cow! For the most part, it is very rare that I recieve spam. I have never recieved a virus in an email. I do not participate in chain letter's or forward jokes. I provide a “black hole” email address, when signing up for things. I am a parinoid freak who doesnt like to provide any personal information to anyone.

Well this morning I saw two emails in my inbox from “eBay”. I thought it was very strange, since I do not have an eBAY account. Upon scanning the email, McAfee picked it up as Phish-BankFraud.eml.aI checked the header content and found out that it was sent from "eBay <custservice_id_309594@ebay.com>" . It also appears to launch a web page from 211.60.138.10. After doing a whois of the address, it appears that the website must be “eBay - Korea“ 

Queried whois.apnic.net with "211.60.138.10"...

% [whois.apnic.net node-2]
% Whois data copyright terms    http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html

inetnum:      211.60.138.0 - 211.60.138.127
netname:      EFRIEND4031406D
descr:        Efriend
descr:        PC Game Plaza User in
descr:        Munheung2-dong Buk-gu KWANGJU
country:      KR
admin-c:      MK256-AP
tech-c:       MK256-AP
status:       ASSIGNED NON-PORTABLE
notify:       b4031406@users.bora.net
mnt-by:       MNT-KRNIC-AP
changed:      b4031406@users.bora.net 20041027
source:       APNIC

person:       Minlee Kim
address:      739 3 Munheung2-dong Buk-gu
address:      KWANGJU Korea
phone:        +82-11-644-0001
country:      KR
e-mail:       b4031406@users.bora.net
nic-hdl:      MK256-AP
mnt-by:       MNT-KRNIC-AP
changed:      b4031406@users.bora.net 20041027
source:       APNIC
 
Published Friday, September 30, 2005 9:56 AM by Anonymous
Filed under:

Comments

No Comments